I received my first ever Internet flame today.
Ali, Jo Ann, and I had returned home after attending the UK-Vandy basketball game. Vandy won the game, which kind of took the shine off of my day.
I sat down at the computer to check my email and a few of my regular haunts. For some reason, I decided to check my Statcounter log (something I rarely do). I noticed six entries in a row, all from the same referrer source. The URL was from the San Francisco Bay Craigslist.
I was curious why people would be visiting my blog from such a place, so I clicked on the link.
Here is the text of the message in case it has already been deleted.
please help me (capitola)
Reply to: pers-265507811@craigslist.org
Date: 2007-01-20, 12:46PM PST
write these people and help shatter their goofy east coast addiction to themselves and not each other.
Or is that my bnitter west coast attitude?
either way...allan seems like a moron with a camera and camera people suck chuck.,
http://www.allanthinks.com/allanthinks/
- it's NOT ok to contact this poster with services or other commercial interests
Posting ID: 265507811
My jaw dropped when I read this. I've had Internet accounts since 1986 and this is the first time such a thing has happened to me.
I been around long enough to know that the Internet is full of angry, unhappy, and troubled people who take delight in flaming and harassing others. But as I said, I've managed to avoid this sort of thing for 21 years.
In the couple of hours since I discovered this, I've received 34 hits from Craigslist. None of the visitors have left a comment, so I guess none of them took offense to my writing or photography.
So, welcome newcomers! Thanks for stopping by. I hope you find something of interest here, and I hope you continue to read my weblog.
I emailed the poster of the message and politely asked them why they had posted it. I doubt I will receive a reply.
Recent Comments